Photography and Time

my favorite picture of the five.
(cell phone picture so not true to color, etc).

For this recent project we were asked to somehow convey the feeling of time. In order to do this, I tried several different techniques. Some worked while others did not work. The five photographs that I ended up choosing weren’t generally cohesive, but all displayed some sense of time. In a few photos, I showed a very blatant sense of time: motion blur. These photographs display some sort of motion: for example, my friend moving her head from side to side to make it look like she has two faces. Likewise, a portrait of my friend with moving people behind her, all causing some sort of blur. This blur shows that time is passing – you get a feeling as if the photograph took seconds to take instead of the usual point and shoot. The photographs with motion blur have the blatancy of time. Unfortunately one of my favorite photographs, a picture of my friend dancing in circles wasn’t one that I could use. The photograph needed extra work in the dark room with the use of both burning and dodging and I just couldn’t find the balance between the darks and the lights. I will be saving the negative (obviously) in hope that I can scan the negative and have an easier time finding this balance.

Two of my photographs are a series. They depict a man on third street promenade performing one of his acts. In one photograph, we see his hands blurred as if he is about to do a trick. Following this image is a capture of him in a handstand – creating the perfect moment. The photographs depict time because as a series we are to believe that this act goes on through the space of time. It is not something that solely exists in one image.

Finally, for my last photograph, I used a long exposure at night time with minimal light. The fridge door is open, illuminating what is around and on the right of the picture on the chair, you can see the faint ghost like image of a cat. Not only does this depict time in the literal sense because it took seconds to actually take the photo, but the photograph also shows the ghost like image of the cat. This shows that the cat was not still long enough in the photo in order to be captured perfectly – giving us the idea that time has passed and that the photograph could not picture everything in a quick second.

I found that my favorite photograph of the bunch is the image of my friend with “two heads.” In this photo I asked her to shake her head from side to side to get this effect. I became really interested in the idea of obscuring and changing faces. Others may know that I like to obscure the fact and body parts – my work from printmaking as well as my final project from last semester with the masked face are clear examples of this. I think I’d like to explore this idea more for my final project in this class but also for my senior thesis. I feel that a face is more than what we see – we all have hidden emotions and personalities, especially in a world with such happiness that comes with such atrocities. No one is the same person from minute to minute or day to day in my opinion. I like capturing the covering of the face or the obscuring of the face because that’s what I feel we do on a daily basis.

1 comment
  1. I didn’t ask you to convey the feeling of time. I asked you to make a photo in which time was the subject, content or meaning. There are/were many ways to approach this, as you proved! Very nice writing here…
    b

Leave a Reply

